Home  >>  News >> Sport >> Out of Rwanda >> 

Tanzania will not host Cecafa

Tanzania has pulled out of hosting the 2016 Cecafa Kagame Cup citing a busy international calendar, according to Tanzania Football Federation president Jamal Malinzi.

Newly crowned league and Cup champions Yanga qualified for the Caf Confederation Cup group stage after edging Angolan side Sagrada Esperanca over a week ago and will now be involved heavily in the home and away fixtures.

Yanga was drawn against the reigning Caf Champions League winners TP Mazembe, Algeria’s MO Bejaia and Medeama of Ghana in Group A and will be playing on a home and away basisfrom June through to August.

Cecafa Secretary General Nicholas Musonye had proposed to national associations that the regional competition be held from June 18 to July 2, a period that is not favourable for Yanga who face Bejaia on the weekend of June 17-19 in Algeria in their first Confederation Cup group stage assignment.

Yanga have to play two games every month between June and August on a home and away basis with TP Mazembe on the weekend on June 28-29 in Dar es Salaam.

Hans van Pluijm’s side will then host Medeama between July 15-17 in Dar es Salaam before playing away in Ghana between July 26-27.

Yanga will host Bejaia on the weekend of August 12-14 before playing their last group stage game against TP Mazembe on the weekend of August 23-24 in Lubumbashi.

In 2015 when Tanzania hosted the regional showpiece, Sudan’s El Merreikh did not take part because of their involvement in the Caf Champions League ultimately reaching the semifinals before losing to eventual champions TP Mazembe 4-2 on aggregate.

Tanzania has hosted the Cecafa Kagame Cup a record 12 times since inception in 1967 with the latest being three times in the last five years including 2011, 2012 and 2015 with Sudan and Rwanda hosting the 2013 and 2014 editions respectively.

Uganda and Kenya have hosted the regional club tournament six times while Sudan and Zanzibar have been hosts five times.

Cecafa Kagame Cup has not been held twice in the last two decades in 1990 and 2010 and has since 2002 been sponsored by Rwandan President Paul Kagame to a tune of $60,000 in prize money.


Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Leave your comment

Your Name

Your Email

Your comment

Close X