Home  >>  News >> Sport >> In Rwanda >> 

Rwanda name strong squad to face Ghana in final AFCON qualifier

Rwanda have named a 26-man squad to face Ghana in next month’s 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier to be played in Accra.

New coach Yaounde Gilbert Kanyankore’s squad is dominated by home-based players as he prepares for the Accra trip.

Twenty two players from the local league were called up for the game along with four foreign based players.

All the foreign based players ply their trade on the African continent and all of them are based in East Africa.

Amavubi captain Haruna Niyonzima (Yanga, Tanzania), Jean Baptiste Mugiraneza ’Migi’ (Azam, Tanzania), Jacques Tuyisenge (Gor Mahia, Kenya) and Ernest Sugira (AS Vita, DR Congo) will provide the needed experience to boost the confidence of their home-based colleagues.

Niyonzima, Mugiraneza and Tuyisenge are expected to arrive in Kigali by Saturday.

Five other top players, who recently secured clubs abroad Emery Bayisenge (KAC Kenitra, Morocco), Jean Claude Iranzi, Fitina Omborenga, Abdul Rwatubyaye and Rachid Kalisa (MFK Topvar, Slovakia) were left to give them time settle in at their new clubs.

With nothing at stake as Ghana have already qualified and Rwanda has no chance of progressing Amavubi are looking to rebuild their squad.

Winning in Accra is a tall order for Amavubi who lost to the Black Stars 1-0 in Kigali last September thanks to a Mubarak Wakaso free-kick in the 87th minute.

Ghana are on top of Group H with 13 points and have already secured a slot at Africa’s premier football event in January 2017 in Gabon.


Goalkeepers: Ndayishimiye Eric (Rayon Sports), Jean Claude Ndoli (AS Kigali) and Bonheur Hategekimana (SC Kiyovu)

Defenders: Michel Rusheshangoga (APR), Eric Iradukunda (AS Kigali), Emmanuel Imanishimwe (APR), Celestin Ndayishimiye (Police), Herve Rugwiro (APR), Faustin Usengimana (APR), Thierry Manzi M (Rayon Sports), Aimable Nsabimana (APR)

Midfielders: Mugiraneza Jean Baptista (Azam, Tanzania), Yannick Mukunzi (APR), Haruna Niyonzima (Yanga,Tanzania), Muhadjiri Hakizimana (APR), Andrew Buteera (APR), Djihad Bizimana (APR Fc), Dominique Savio Nshuti (Rayon Sports), Fiston Nkizingabo (APR), Yussufu Habimana (Mukura), Olivier Niyonzima (Rayon Sports)

Strikers: Onesme Twizeyimana (APR), Danny Usengimana (Police), Ernest Sugira (AS Vita, DR Congo) and Jacques Tuyisenge (Gor Mahia, Kenya)


Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Leave your comment

Your Name

Your Email

Your comment

Close X