Home  >>  News >> Sport >> In Rwanda >> 

Rwanda Held in Reserve Rwf70 Million for Cycling Cup

The second edition of the annual Rwanda Cycling Cup will cost an estimated Rwf70 million, the organisers, Rwanda Cycling Federation, have revealed.

The federation president, Aimable Bayingana made the announcement during a press conference held at Classic Hotel in Kicukiro on Thursday.

The competition, which includes 11 races, starts today with the first race, dubbed ‘Farmers’ Race’ from Amahoro National Stadium in Kigali to Nyagatare District in the Eastern Province.

The race will end on October 23, less than a month before the start of Tour du Rwanda.

Today’s race will start from Kigali-Nyagatare, covering a total distance of 148,5km where over 60 cyclists juniors and seniors (in both genders) will compete. Last year’s inaugural Rwanda Cycling Cup cost Rwf48m.

Bayingana said the competitions are aimed at discovering young talented cyclists who can ride for the national team in international competitions. The Rwanda Cycling Cup is sponsored by Skol and Cogebanque.

The federation president, Aimable Bayingana.

“I think we are going to identify new young talent from these races, and we hope the races will greatly improve the standards of our cyclists. Last year we discovered Joseph Areruya and we believe this year we will discover other riders with great potential,” he said.

Riders will accumulate points from each race and at the end the season, the rider with the highest number of points will be overall national champion. Reigning Tour du Rwanda champion Jean Bosco Nsengimana is also the defending champion of the Rwanda Cycling Cup.

The race will attract riders from different cycling clubs under the Federation of Cycling, including; Benediction Club, Les Amis Sportifs, Cine Elmay, Fly Cycling Club, Huye Cycling Club for All, and Kiramuruzi Cycling Club.

The race will see riders compete in four categories, namely; Elite Men, Men U-23, Under 18 (Juniors Men and Women). The juniors will compete in 101km, from Rwamagana to Nyagatare, while women elite will compete in 67km, from Kiramuruzi to Nyagatare.

Winners of each of the ten races will receive Rwf100, 000 while the winner of the U23 category will get Rwf60, 000. The overall winning team at the end of the season will get Rwf500, 000.

By Robert Muriisa.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Leave your comment

Your Name

Your Email

Your comment

Close X