Home  >>  News >> Sport >> In Rwanda >> 


Burundian Pierrot Kwizera has been named Rwanda’s Football Player of the Year at the inaugural Premier League Awards held on Friday (29 July 2016) in Kigali.

The ceremony was to award the best performers of the 2015/16 season, which saw APR emerge champions.

Attacking midfielder Kwizera of Rayon Sport scooped the topmost honour, fending off challenges from teammate Savio Dominique Nshuti and Muhadjir Hakizimana, formerly of Mukura Victory Sports, who has just joined APR.

“I am thankful to my teammates, fans and my coach (Djuma Masudi). We have to work hard for next season. We did everything to win the trophy and we will keep the fighting spirit for next season” said Kwizera.

The 25 year old, who joined the ‘Blues’ in January 2015 from Simba of Tanzania scored seven times in the campaign and was a gem in midfield for Rayon, guiding them to a runners-up finish in the league and to win the Peace Cup (Rwanda’s version of the FA Cup).

Kwizera has meanwhile committed his future to Rayon, signing an improved two-year deal.

“I am happy and I will be looking forward to winning more. I will keep working hard for my team and score more goals with the partnership with my teammates”, he added.

Rayon dominated the event with many award winners including trainer Djuma Masudi winning Revelation Coach of the Year prize, beating APR’s Tunisian coach Nizar Khanfir and Etincelles FC coach Innocent Seninga.

Forward Savio was named Promising Player of the Year whilst the Best Goalkeeper of the season award went to Eric ‘Bakame’ Ndayishimiye.

Hakizimana and Danny Usengimana of Police shared the prize for the top scorer after ending the just ended season with 16 goals apiece.

Award winners
Player of the Year: Pierrot Kwizera (Rayon Sport)
Top Scorer: Hakizimana Muhadjiri (Mukura VS) & Danny Usengimana (Police FC)-16 Goals
Promising Player of the Year: Savio Dominique Nshuti (Rayon Sports)
Best Goalkeeper: Eric Ndayishimiye (Rayon Sport)
Coach of the Year: Eric Nshimiyimana (AS Kigali)
Revelation Coach of the Year: Djuma Masudi (Rayon Sport)
Best Referee: Louis Hakizimana
Best Assistant Referee: Zephanie Niyonkuru

Team of the Year
Goalkeeper: Eric Ndayishimiye (Rayon Sport)
Defenders: Fitina Ombolenga (SC Kiyovu), Emmanuel Imanishimwe (Rayon Sport), Fiston Munezero (Rayon Sport) and Abdul Rwatubyaye (APR)
Midfielders: Pierrot Kwizera (Rayon Sport), Ally Niyonzima (Mukura VS), Muhadjiri Hakizimana (Mukura VS), Savio Dominique Nshuti (Rayon Sport) and Iranzi Jean Claude (APR FC)
Forward: Ismailia Diarra (Rayon Sport)


Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Leave your comment

Your Name

Your Email

Your comment

Close X