Home  >>  News >> All around >> In Rwanda >> 

FERWAFA to split women’s league

Rwanda Football Federation (Ferwafa) has deliberated that the topflight women’s league be divided into two with eight clubs in either competition ahead of the new season.

JPEG - 113.4 kb
Women Senior National Team

AS Kigali has won the nationwide trophy an unprecedented eight times in a row, a feat that has sparked off criticism about the level of competitiveness amongst the teams.

In one game last season, AS Kigali defeated a struggling Nyagatare WFC 27-0 to clinch the title with a game to spare much to the astonishment of many.

In this particular game, all the 11 players on the pitch scored including goalkeeper Judith Ingabire who converted from the spot.

Grace Nyinawumuntu’s side has dominated the local scene for almost a decade and some football stakeholders believe that there is a huge gap between AS Kigali and teams like Nyagatare WFC.

Last season that ended in October 2016, AS Kigali scored an incredible 102 goals and conceded only four goals winning the league with 40 points from 15 games, drawing with Les Lioness and losing only once to title contenders Kamonyi.

Kamonyi finished second with 36 points from the same number of games, scoring 37 goals and conceding only seven times but meanwhile Nyagatare conceded a disheartening 167 goals and failed to score throughout all their 15 games.

In a two-day meeting of football stakeholders in Rubavu recently, it was agreed that the two eight-team championships would level the ground for the participating teams.

The topflight league will be named the First Division Women Football League while the second tier will be referred to as the Second Division Women League.

A Ferwafa statement on the matter stated that the format to determine who joins the second division women football league will be that the last three finishers in the 2016 Women football league and the seven new clubs who applied to join the women football league will play a 10-team qualification tournament.

“The two finalists will join the remaining six clubs to play in the 2017 First Division Women Football League while the remaining eight teams will feature in the 2017 second division league.”

“At the end of the league, two lower ranked clubs will join the Second Division Women Football League while the two best ranked in the second division league will be promoted to the First Division Women Football League.”

The same meeting agreed that in 2020, the second division tier would be played in a zonal league format.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Leave your comment

Your Name

Your Email

Your comment

Close X